KLM-VA Teamspeak Company Channel

CC - cc.ts.ivao.aero




From the 1st January 2017, KLM-VA has introduced a new feature of grading KLM-VA pilots.
Now pilots can become certified on any of the current KLM aircraft: Airbus A330, Boeing 737, -747, -777 and -787 and the Embraer 175/190.
A pilot can become certified on an aircraft-type by flying a number (percentage) of the flights of the KLM-schedule of that type.
The KLM-VA pilot that succeeds in becoming a type certified pilot will be granted a special certificate on the profile for the flying services achieved!

Type rating certificates:


Searching a scheduled flight

Any KLM pilot can start a type certification at any given moment within his KLM career.
We have created a database of all current active KLM flights flown by all the aircraft types.
As real KLM Operations decide for many different reasons which aircraft to fly what flightnumber, it will happen that more than one aircrafttype can be selected for the same flightnumber.
Example: KL0427 is flown to Dubai with both Boeing-777 but also with Boeing-787 aircrafttype.
The database of KLM IATA-flights is available from the “Search scheduled flight” tab and this shows the complete inventory of the active KLM-VA scheduled flights.
A pilot that wants to start a type-certification needs to find his specific aircrafttype within these pages which are by default sorted on flightnumbers.
When starting to plan a certification flight, the pilot can make use of the following procedures:
a) Click on the "Search scheduled flight" menu and then sort on any available colomn to find a specific flight,
   like Departure, Arrival or Aircrafttype.
b) Another useful way to find a specific flight is to make use of the Search function.
   Click in the "Search scheduled flight" menu on a selective Aircrafttype: A33x, B73x, B74x, B77x, B78x, E1xx or F70,
   or fill in any other search criterion; this will filter out only the specific flights for that search criterion.
   Any flightnumber displayed in the color orange has already been flown (by you) and counts only once.


The KLM-VA pilot has to complete at least 50%, 75% or 100% of all available flights of a specific aircrafttype to get the following certification status:
50% = bronze 75% = silver 100% = gold
As in real air KLM operations, the scheduled flights databases are to be updated on a regular interval and thus your type rating status can and will change in time. Think of aircrafttypes being phased out or new aircrafttypes being introduced. As airframes are being phased-out, lesser and less flights remain in the database. Or when newer aircraft are delivered, more and more flights are to be made by that aircrafttype.
So be aware that the calculations of the percentages can make a difference. When the number of flights change the color of your medal can change as well...
On that note: once an active aircrafttype being phased out has reached a minimum number of required flights, the Type certification is transfered to the Historic Aircrafttype certification program.
One more thing about the certificates: they can be current or non-current. A certificate is current if you have flown 12 flights or more on the aircraft type in the last 365 days. These may be scheduled flights or non scheduled flights. The certificate has a stamp with the year it was last current. If at the end of a year you have flown less than 12 flights with the aircraft type of the certificate, the year-stamp will not be renewed until you have met the rule of 12 flights in the last 365 days.


Since there are some regulations for the scheduled flights, pilots must follow some basic rules that will be validated strictly.

- Fly online
- Use only a KLM Callsign identifier!
- Mention in the REMARKS field of the Flightplan the following:
   SCHEDULE/IATA-code   aka.   SCHEDULE/KL0428
   You must specify the flightnumber in 4 digits!
- ICAO airport codes in the Flightplan must be correct at the start of the leg.
   Departure and arrival locations (coördinates) will be checked.
   The pilot is responsible to ensure the flightplan is correct before takeoff.
   Flights with the wrong Departure / Arrival or Flightrules (I) or Type of Flight (S)
   will NOT be accepted as type-rating flight!
- ICAO Aircraft type in the Flightplan must be correct for that specific leg of the scheduled flight, no exceptions!
   Noncompliance with these rules will result in your leg being rejected!